Emily Osment dishes on her New Album and Not Liking Jonas Brothers music!!!

21 Apr

Hannah Montana starlet Emily Osment chatted with Taft High Tribune about working for Disney, writing her her own music and not liking the Jonas Brothers music. Em dished:

I’ve basically signed my life over to Disney. I’m contracted to ask permission if I want to do a non Disney project or movie, like Soccer Mom, which I just finished filming..

..I’m working on my album right now. All the songs are original and written by me. And I’m NOT with Disney. I’m aiming for indie rock. It’s going to be like nothing you’ve ever heard from a Disney star.”

Emily said she doesn’t even like the music on Disney’s label.

The Jonas Brothers are great guys, but I don’t like their music. I’m into Radiohead, The Shin and Incubus. My music icon is John Lennon. I never even watched Disney growing up.”

62 Responses to “Emily Osment dishes on her New Album and Not Liking Jonas Brothers music!!!”

  1. sheryl April 21, 2008 at 1:45 pm #

    What??! I Do not agree with her but, Oh well, each and everyone has their own opinions.

  2. maddie April 21, 2008 at 3:26 pm #

    Good for her!

  3. HSM_LUVA XX April 21, 2008 at 4:09 pm #

    woop woop go emily

  4. marshall April 21, 2008 at 5:06 pm #

    hey at least she shows indivisual taste and isnt just flowing with the JB craze good for her

  5. Lana Livingston April 21, 2008 at 5:28 pm #

    Emily i think you are great! i love the movies u have been in and i love u on Hannah Montana…and i even liked ur song “i Dont Think About It”….i think thats what it is….but i really dont know what the heck INDIE ROCK is….

  6. radom_chic_101 April 21, 2008 at 8:59 pm #

    hey emily’s cool and all but who does want to be on disney (disney awsome!)
    but what i don’t understand is y she doesn’t like the jonas brothers (i luv them)
    i go crazy for them…. she’s offical a jb hater……
    I ❤ JONAS BROTHERS
    (sorry if i offened any1)
    but she’s still cool…

  7. radom_chic_101 April 21, 2008 at 9:01 pm #

    i mean cum on who doesn’t luv the jonas brothers??????
    now that’z just crazy………

  8. actres4eva April 21, 2008 at 10:39 pm #

    seriously i luv them
    but emily rocks
    and applaud her for not following the crowd
    and being an indivual

  9. ZAC LOVER April 21, 2008 at 11:23 pm #

    GO GIRL I HATE THE JONAS BROTHERS SONGS TOO BUT THER ECUTE

  10. mileys biggest fan_ naomi x April 22, 2008 at 5:52 pm #

    u go girl. . . jonas suck!!

  11. radom_chic_101 April 22, 2008 at 7:43 pm #

    u all must b crazy the jonas brothers rock
    and the r super cute
    (nicks mine…)

    any one who hates jb sucks
    cuz jb is awsome!!!

    • evanescenceFan June 10, 2010 at 2:17 am #

      well then i guess ur saying more than half the world sucks… cause a lot of ppl hate the jonas brothers. including me.

  12. radom_chic_101 April 22, 2008 at 7:44 pm #

    idc what anyone says….

  13. Dude April 23, 2008 at 12:03 am #

    this also means she doesn’t like miley

  14. Nicole Emma April 23, 2008 at 6:44 am #

    Well, she don’t need to be so honest…. And I agree with Dude. This also means she doen’t like Miley…….

    • evanescenceFan June 10, 2010 at 2:19 am #

      it means she doesn’t like miley’s music. she even said the jonas brotherss are great, she just doesn’t like their music.

  15. *me* April 23, 2008 at 7:41 pm #

    go emily! jonas brothers suck!!

  16. radom_chic_101 April 24, 2008 at 9:46 pm #

    well i can’t blame her for not liking miley
    but jb? woahhh

    I LOVE THE JONAS BROTHERS!!!!!!!!!!!

  17. Jasmine April 25, 2008 at 6:27 pm #

    Emily should be ready to olose her job

  18. Courtney Clark April 26, 2008 at 2:24 pm #

    omg i am shocked how could u hate the JBROS they rocked

  19. Emily Fan April 27, 2008 at 10:02 am #

    you go girl good on ya at lest your not like miely the slut

  20. mileys biggest fan_ naomi x April 28, 2008 at 7:20 pm #

    dude. . it says she doesnt like jonas. . not miley!!

  21. Techno Fairy April 28, 2008 at 8:26 pm #

    EMILY
    ROCKS!!!
    OMGSHHH SHE ROCKS
    I cant wait for her album! AND I LOOVEE INDIE ROCKK!!!! WOOOTTTT!!!!
    and yes miley is kinda a slut. but emily is wayy better than her! Obviously.. 😛

  22. Dude May 2, 2008 at 3:55 am #

    READ THE ARTICLES PEOPLE, i hope you can, it says DISNEY music

  23. prettiehot101 June 23, 2008 at 2:24 am #

    i like Emily, but why doesn`t she like the JO BROS?

  24. Nicks Girl July 10, 2008 at 9:47 pm #

    WHAT?!?! I knew this lol i read it on a mag but who cares there is still ALOT more pple that like them!

  25. simply amazing July 22, 2008 at 12:30 am #

    wat her album called? i really cannt wait 4 it 2 cum out! bjut how can she hate jb songs, theyre CATCHY… anyway, you go girl!!!!!!!!!!!!

  26. simply amazing July 22, 2008 at 12:34 am #

    warnung dont just put emily sucks (or something like that) cuz my names emily and if i suck (even if you dont mean me) you can all sick it up youre fucking ass holes!!!…………just thought you de like 2 no…..

  27. simply amazing July 22, 2008 at 12:35 am #

    soz im crap at spellings just noticed sum obvious mistakes!

  28. wilma August 6, 2008 at 1:09 am #

    Guys she didn’t say she doesn’t like the jonas brothers. She said she doesn’t like theur music.
    And I love her. I think she is so grounded

  29. JB LOVER!!! August 20, 2008 at 8:27 am #

    This girl is really ridiculous why is she whining about “signing her life to Disney” she is the one who made that decision she should have read the contract better.She should be thanking Disney for making her known.and i find it just rude that she would say that about the Jonas Brothers i mean she even got a chance to work with them she is just dumb and ugly she is just mad she cant be with any of them.

  30. unique August 20, 2008 at 9:27 am #

    Wilma’s rite she didn’t say she didn’t like them she said she doesn’t like there music you girls take things way too seriosly jus like with miley. Emily is intitled to her own oppion she has likes and dislikes and not liking the jb’s music is one

  31. danielle September 30, 2008 at 10:52 pm #

    i love jb, but everyone has their opinions.
    go emily for not following the crowd.

  32. Saraah October 2, 2008 at 1:44 pm #

    HEY EVERYBODY, THIS IS WHAT SHE SAID;The Jonas Brothers are great guys, but I don’t like their music. I’m into Radiohead, The Shin and Incubus. My music icon is John Lennon. I never even watched Disney growing up.

    That means that she doesn’t like the type of music thei sing.

  33. $$$I'' mm''@' $w..@Gg'3rR$$$ October 6, 2008 at 9:40 pm #

    !!!Can ya’ll stop freakin fiendin’ gosh!! its gud cuz she is her own person and bein an individual.. and her songs rock.. she ain;t like miley and FIRST OF ALL….!!! emily nevr even said dat she hates dem’…ya’ll r puttin a buch of words in her mouth… okay..damn!!! u ppl r way in ovr her head..i mean how in da hell can she not like da jonas bros.. she said she don’t like their music.. not them!!!

  34. $$$I'' mm''@' $w..@Gg'3rR$$$ October 6, 2008 at 9:42 pm #

    and by da pplz umm yea i’ma girl.. also plz go on youtube and watch me and mii friends new show The Imani and Farhana Show and plz comment rate,and subscribe..iight thnx

  35. Mallory October 20, 2008 at 11:55 pm #

    Bitch JB RULE!!!!!!!
    Haaaaa

  36. Holly December 27, 2008 at 3:06 pm #

    Go Emily! 😀
    I like the Jonas Brothers, and their music, but lately they’ve come across as jerks to me.
    Yay for her!

  37. bangkidt March 18, 2009 at 9:49 am #

    Hey I think, peoples like different things
    you guys can’t say that she is suck if she doen’t like jonas brothers, she has a different taste
    I think that’s normal

  38. Jemilyfan April 5, 2009 at 3:21 am #

    Okay, emily osment ROX! I love the Jonas Brothers… but, EVERYBODY has there own opinions. And she never said she didn’t like the Jonas Brothers. But, she said that she just isn’t into there MUSIC! She said there great guys… and that’s DEFINIETLY a sign that she likes them.

    And, i can’t wait to here her new album! I think it will be AMAZING!!!

    🙂

  39. lublubaneie April 21, 2009 at 10:31 am #

    wow i luv her now.
    She wasn’t scared to tell the world that she’s not really into their music even if they would hate on her.

  40. Kimicka13 June 15, 2009 at 7:32 pm #

    “29 | JB LOVER!!!
    August 20, 2008 at 8:27 am

    This girl is really ridiculous why is she whining about “signing her life to Disney” she is the one who made that decision she should have read the contract better.She should be thanking Disney for making her known.and i find it just rude that she would say that about the Jonas Brothers i mean she even got a chance to work with them she is just dumb and ugly she is just mad she cant be with any of them.”

    Listen you stupid person, Emily wast ‘Whining’ she was just telling the truth, Disney is one of the only corporations who still actually ‘own’ the actors. And just because she’s a Disney star doesnt mean SHE HAS TO LIKE ALL THE MUSIC. No, It just means she has to be nice to them, and she never said she didnt like the Jonas Brothers, she said she didnt like their music, she stated that the style she likes is different from them, she says, “The Jonas Brothers are great guys, but I don’t like their music. I’m into Radiohead, The Shin and Incubus. My music icon is John Lennon.”

    To everyone else omfg! Not every stinkin person in the world has to like the Jonas Brothers or for that matter the freaking same thing! The Jonas Brothers music I dont really like there a couple songs here and there that I like but that’s it! I dont really like them personally, I used to like Nick and Joe but I’m over that…but seriously and just because she’s a disney star doesnt mean she has to like them…so yeah. I’m done here. bye! Signed Linda…

  41. Mollenaah June 17, 2009 at 7:59 pm #

    Well i think she is going to be alot more susseful than other diseny stars she is so oringinal. Love her!

  42. shae July 13, 2009 at 1:37 am #

    no offense but i thinks shes horrible at singing

  43. Alice July 29, 2009 at 11:23 pm #

    Thank god! I swear she is now officially my role model! I hate the Jonas Brothers music and love those bands. I cannot wait for her album! She’s an awesome signer and she has so much potential that she CANNOT waist on Disney, she needs to get in to bigger movies I have a feeling she will be once shes older.

  44. Alright... August 26, 2009 at 5:15 am #

    If Emily is a Disney star, there is no way she’s pulling off indie (independant) rock or alternative. I read this brief article, I saw the section where it says that Disney is not involved, I even went as far as to listen to a few of her songs; as an avid “indie” music listener, believe me, nothing about this girl is independant. Let’s face it: she’s hardly different than any other Disney POP star. Though I do respect her in admitting that she’s not a Jonas fan as well as trying to break away from Disney (to an extent), I really wish she wouldn’t compare her own music to the music she might listen to. Aside from that one minor annoyance I have with her, I think that Emily seems like a pretty cool person.

  45. Cool September 3, 2009 at 4:31 pm #

    I have a whole new level of respect for her. She likes Incubus? Wow, a Disney star with some decent taste in music. Though truth be told, her single “All The Way Up” isn’t indie rock. It’s definitely pop.

  46. lilly September 8, 2009 at 11:19 am #

    She’s so right!! 🙂
    I don’t like JB.
    She’s a great singer too!
    I doubted her voice at first 🙂
    BUT SHE’S GREAT!
    (sorry if i offended someone)

  47. :::_[°*°eMi°*°]_::: September 10, 2009 at 4:32 pm #

    I think she will never have the success of the Jonas Brothers & Miley Cyrus…
    Miley’s not a SLUT!!!!
    And JB RULE at Disney!!!!
    I like how Emily sings but I like her better as an actress……..

    btw I love the Jonas Brothers!!!!!!!!!!!!

  48. :::_[°*°eMi°*°]_::: September 10, 2009 at 4:37 pm #

    Oh come on…
    u don’t really think that her music is rock…do u???
    haha lol
    if u think that her music is rock…then u r a bunch of assholes…

    I’m a Jonas Brothers fan but I don’t think that their music is ROCK… their music is called “teen pop or pop/rock”…
    but it’s not ROCK…

    so don’t even try to say she is a ROCKER…!!!!!

  49. Live_Like_a_Princess___x3 October 3, 2009 at 1:47 pm #

    Yeah,I know.
    Non a tutti possono piacere (purtroppo)!!
    =/

  50. Skye October 6, 2009 at 5:00 pm #

    i have so much more respect for her now. It takes a lot to be taken seriously in the music world and Disney diminishes a lot of that credibility. I happen to love the Jonas Brothers and their music but I do get what she’s saying. Disney takes a lot of control away from artists she was right not to sign with them.

  51. destiny kistoo October 15, 2009 at 9:36 pm #

    DEAR EMILY,

    I LOVE ALL OF YOUR SONGS. YOU ARE SO FUNNY IN HANNAH MONTANA . MY CELL PHONE IS 1-845-269-0898 CALL ME AND I WILL CALL YOU.

    LOVE DESTINY KISTOO

    • sara November 5, 2009 at 10:31 pm #

      WHY WOULD YOU PUT YOUR NUMBER ON THE WORLD WIDE INTERNET!!!!!!!!!!

  52. sara November 5, 2009 at 10:30 pm #

    i love your music &what is your new cd called ?I want to know because i’m a big fan of you. when i know the title of yoyr new cd i’ll buy it! YOU ROCK i love you & YOUR MUSIC

  53. sara November 6, 2009 at 1:59 am #

    Dear Emily Osment,

    Ilove you & your music.Youboth rock. I am your #1 fan ever. Ilove your new song ALL THE WAY UP! It is awesome & and you are too. You are also the greatest ever.I also loveyour disney character lilly on the show Hannah Montana.Idon’t like the Jonas Brothers music too.I use to but i’m so over it.I just like them. I love Hannah Montana too & are you gals really best friends?.I only found out about you a couple years ago.First i said “how is this girl’& thats when i found out about you. I liked you ever since that day.All my friends love you to they think your really really awesome!! Is it hard to become famous? When I grow up I want to be like you & Iwant to dress a little bit like you too.OMG it’s EMILY OSMENT. What is the name of your new cd? Iwant to know because you music is really awesome & cool.The best part that i like about you is everything!Do you like having lots of $ money $ because I love having lots & lots of money. Money is one of the greatest things in the world .I love the parts you play in moovies expesuly the Hannah Montana Movie. The funniest part that invaled you in the movie is when that lady rubed your feet & ROBBY RAY found out right away.Is it hard being famous? i want to know becaus I’m corious.Is it really exciting to see all those #1 fans when you go on stage?I wish that I can play in movies & shows with my friends all the time. I am 100% sure that i’m your bigest # 1 fan!! Ilove when you sing ALL THE WAY UP on family it is so funny exspesuly when the grandma was poking the cieling with the broom stick. I thought it was funny the first time I saw it . from sara P.S KEEP ROCKING THE WHOLE WIDE WORLD FOREVER! YOY ROCK!

  54. AllyJ November 12, 2009 at 12:47 pm #

    Awesomest teen celebrity? I think so.

  55. Long Day Crazy Dark Sleep December 16, 2009 at 7:50 pm #

    lovely Hair

  56. penguin72418 February 20, 2010 at 4:07 am #

    ur al idiots jb sucks disney sucks emily osments right

    • cali October 16, 2012 at 5:01 am #

      Exactly! 😄

  57. cali October 16, 2012 at 5:00 am #

    I totally have respect for her now. Lol! FINALLY a Disney star who has spoken up about how crappy Disney pop music is. Only Disney star who I don’t hate. 😄

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Emily Osment Is a Procrastinator! « The Teen Scoop - September 7, 2009

    […] how Emily Osment said that she didn’t like the Jonas Brothers […]

Leave a Reply

